• We have updated Tinnitus Talk.

If you come across any issues, please use our contact form to get in touch.

An ENT Doctor with Tinnitus

brownbear

Author
Sep 24, 2016
Tinnitus Since
July 2016
Cause of Tinnitus
Sudden sensorineural hearing loss ? cochlear hydrops
I developed a sudden hearing loss in my left ear 9 weeks ago. The working diagnosis is cochlear hydrops. I had oral and intratympanic steroids early and tried HBOT but it seemed to make things worse. The steroids definitely seemed to help my hearing which has thankfully improved. However the severe accompanying tinnitus has hit me like a freight train and is little better. I have had a great deal of support from my colleagues and family which has been great. I would be very happy to share my experiences. I am an ENT surgeon, in fact my area of expertise is Otology, so this is all a bit too close to home!

Am I the first person to welcome you? Welcome.
I am sure many visitors of this forum would like to "pick your brain".
It is always sad that another person suffers from tinnitus or hearing problems.

I found support on this forum. I hope you will too.
I hope that your tinnitus will go away or you will habituate soon.

Thank you Reinier.

Having looked at a few posts by people at the start of their tinnitus I think it is safe to say that I have had a very similar experience regarding my sleep, mood, wellbeing etc. It is a very difficult time. I still have flashbacks to July when my colleague told me their was no wax to remove in my blocked, noise filled ear! What a journey this is.

Having looked at a few posts by people at the start of their tinnitus I think it is safe to say that I have had a very similar experience regarding my sleep, mood, wellbeing etc. It is a very difficult time.
I agree.
I also recognise a lot other people are experiencing. In ways we al are not so different after all.