mb96

Author
Apr 28, 2021
Tinnitus Since
2019 Jan
Cause of Tinnitus
Unknown
Hey,

This is my first time posting here, but I discovered this forum back in January 2019 when I realized that I had tinnitus. It was very unbearable during the first few weeks but eventually I got used to it and life was great once again (the Success Stories gave me hope and helped me a lot with habituation).

Fast forward to February this year, I noticed that my tinnitus has developed a new tone in my right ear, which had a lower frequency than my original tinnitus. It wasn't that bad and it didn't affect my mental well-being that much. Two weeks ago I noticed that this new tone had faded away and I was extremely happy and relieved. However, last week I learned that my parents got COVID-19 and I got very anxious and worried. At the same time I noticed that the tone that supposedly faded away has now returned and it's now worse than ever.

I now feel like I'm back at the same state as I was when I discovered my tinnitus. I have trouble sleeping and I wake up 4-5 times every night. I am optimistic that I will cope with this, given enough time. Some mornings, I wake up with this tone being basically gone, although it starts to gradually come back and increase after 30 minutes from waking up. It is very weird. However, I am mostly worried about it getting worse throughout the years, which is making me depressed. I feel like I've done everything to protect my ears and I am confused about why this is happening to me.

Has anybody experienced something similar?

Yeah I think I've got anxiety-induced tinnitus. It's been about a week and it was lessening throughout the day yesterday but at night woke me up several times again.