From Loud Venues to Tinnitus: My Sound Engineer’s Tale

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Fra, Jun 29, 2024.

1. Fra

Fra Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2024
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud noise exposure
      Introduction

Hi all,

I'm an electronic music musician (with modular synths and such) and live sound engineer. Both are hobbies of mine; I never formally studied them, which may explain some of my past carelessness. I'm 39, and I live in the Netherlands.

I'm also a semi-pathological overthinker, so this thread is for me to let go of things and to measure progress, if there is any.

The Accident

About five weeks ago, on the 23rd of May 2024, I was invited to play at a venue. Unfortunately, I had been losing one of my party earplugs, so I wasn't wearing them that evening. I arrived and found several bands doing soundchecks. It was very loud.

The sound engineer said he had to go somewhere else for about two hours and asked if I could handle the soundchecks. I said yes—a big mistake. I was there for the soundchecks and the first band as well, with all their demands of adjusting mics and such. This venue was so loud. I decided to listen to the band with the mixer headphones—another mistake. I was enjoying this band but didn’t realize that the outside decibels were combined with the headphone decibels.

For most of the rest of the evening, I tried to stay away from the main hall and stay in the backstage room. I was also very tired that day.

When the sound engineer returned, I made another stupid decision as I played the last act. For some reason, I asked him to put the monitors as high as possible. Why would I do that? I don't really know. Maybe since I didn't do my own soundcheck, I wanted to make sure that I could hear my music more clearly, as opposed to what was blasted from the P.A. speakers.