Hearing Loss/Worsened Tinnitus from Bench Slamming Shut: I Need Support!

Discussion in 'Support' started by SaraK18, Sep 3, 2020.

1. SaraK18

SaraK18 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      8/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sound exposure
      Hey Everyone,

I am brand new to Tinnitus Talk. I have read some posts and found support over the last couple of days. I was exposed to a loud sound Friday night, a bench slamming shut. Since then I’ve had increased bilateral ringing and I felt a bit nauseous and slightly off-balance.

I went to the ear doctor today and he gave me a full work up. He said I have slight hearing loss around 4000 Hz due to the noise exposure. He said all my symptoms are caused from that and it should heal on its own in time. He was hesitant to give me steroids because of the current pandemic. I’m fine with that because I’d rather not take steroids anyway. He recommended low salt diet for now to act as a diuretic.

I’m feeling a bit shocked and devastated. I know he said it will probably go away, but I have fear that it won’t and in the meantime the sound/feeling is unsettling. Just looking for some support on here. Has anyone experienced something similar?

It wasn’t the first time I was exposed to this bench slamming shut at my boyfriend's house, but it’s definitely the last as he is putting foam pads on it now. (He kept forgetting to close it quietly... I wish I could turn back the clock and not been exposed to this but I didn’t realize it would cause this issue).

I’ve had low level tinnitus for years but nothing like this.

I’m very open to natural supplements so if anyone has suggestions please send them my way.

Thanks,
      Sara

• Hug Hug x 2
    2. Kendra

Kendra Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      SSNHL/ Acoustic Trauma