Hi I Am New to Tinnitus and Have Some Questions. Thank You for Any Thoughts.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Loria B, Jul 1, 2016.

1. Loria B

Loria B Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/20/2106
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Dental Work
      I went to the dentist to remove an old bridge which was cracked. Once it was removed it was discovered one of the supporting teeth of the bridge was no longer viable and would have to be removed. The other supporting tooth was fine but was fitted for a new crown. Only real choice was to have 2 implants done since bridge no longer an option. The implants will be done later in the year after healing. That day I was in the dental chair for 3 hours. Granted, I was not being drilled on that entire time. But the bridge removal was long and hard. The removal of the molar was horrible. Lots of breaking/cracking sounds. Lastly, the new crown was put on.
      Five days later I wake up with a loud roaring in my ears which later seemed to settle in my L ear. Opposite side of the dental work. Also noises actually hurt. Like normal dishes being used at dinner or cleaning them-every bang turns into a wince for me. Loud talking seems to amplify it as well.

I normally wear a Snore-Guard in my mouth every night but have not worn it since the dental work. Before the Snore-Guard I wore a mouth appliance for grinding. So I have always worn something all night. Of course now it no longer fits so can't wear. No point in making a new one until all implants are in and that will be a slow process due to my finances.

My question is could the T be caused by me grinding at night without an appliance to protect teeth? Some days it is softer sound but I notice when I leave my house and return from the world of noise which seems to be everywhere a person needs to go-the noise has amplified or volume has increased. This make me wonder if it has to do with grinding at all?