Home Office Approval Because of Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by KellyKei, Aug 22, 2022.

1. KellyKei

KellyKei Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      Hello, if anyone has been in the same situation or has any ideas, please help me. :cry:

My situation:
      Recently everything has been a mess. My tinnitus worsened (returned in one ear) because of two acoustic traumas (around 120 dB each) in one week. I’ve recently been in the hospital for corticosteroids + vasodilatory infusions, because they helped me in the past (made my tinnitus almost unnoticeable in one ear and changed tone in the other to more pleasant). The very hard work I did to make my tinnitus better is now gone (I paid expensive treatments from my high school job) and I have to go through everything again.

Why home office:
      I’m studying 3 hours away from my home and this semester I also have to attend internship there for 3 days/week (8 hours/day), living there for family reasons is not possible, so I will have to somehow stuff all my mandatory subjects into 2 days in a week (which is going to be crazy, very difficult field of study) and travel 5 days/week.

When I was travelling last semester (around 3 days/week and it was horrible), my ears were worsened after every ride (with earmuffs on) because my car is super noisy and my psychological health was suffering (family problems and tinnitus combined).

I would like to work (internship) from home office, my work has no problem with that, because of COVID-19 almost everyone works from home office and I’m spending 8 hours in the office for no reason -> I can do the same work at home (it's work on computer) and all meetings are on Zoom. Only problem is that my school accepts home office only in case of justified health problems. Because of my family situation, it would also be a huge help if I was able to be home more.