• We have updated Tinnitus Talk.

If you come across any issues, please use our contact form to get in touch.

How Long for Burning Ear Pain to Subside?

Sevv

Author
Benefactor
Apr 17, 2019
Tinnitus Since
Cause of Tinnitus
Loud concert
Hello everyone,

Yesterday I had my best tinnitus day in the last 4 months. It was really low. Unfortunately my fate decided to confront me with an idiot bus driver who made an announcement in the bus through the speaker system, which was incredibly loud, certainly around 100dB. I immediately covered my ears (was still uncomfortable), but developed dull/burning ear pain later in the evening (annoying, but not severe). I have hyperacusis in the high frequencies and speaker systems are something I do not tolerate well, especially not this loud.

My tinnitus has not spiked so far and I haven't gotten a setback with hyperacusis (regarding noise tolerance), just ear pain. This is my first time with this symptom, so how long do your episodes of ear pain last after noise exposure, for those who it is not permanent?

So it has been a week and it's hard to tell whether it has improved or not. Could use some hope here. =/

Has your burning got any better?
I still get the burning almost daily but it fluctuates rather than being there all day long. I thought I was doing better overall but my facial pain got significantly worse, loudness hyperacusis came back with a vengeance and my tinnitus is also at an all time high so I guess it was a trade off.

Hello everyone,

After getting burning pain in my ears from my bus driver incident (100dB announcement through speakers, plugged my ears in 0.3 seconds but still painfully loud) I now after a week also have a spike. My tinnitus is more aggressive in both ears and I now experience a noticeable deep drone.
I took NAC and magnesium after the incident but seemingly it hasn't helped.