I Figured I’d Introduce Myself

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Djstarkiss, Jan 7, 2019.

1. Djstarkiss
      Badass

Djstarkiss Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music
      I’m 29 I’ve been a DJ/ producer for 14 years.
      I’m sad by the lack of warning in the club scene about tinnitus. I feel let down and I wish someone told me about it ...

23 days ago I went to a club in NYC. I remember looking at the dB meter, it was hitting 110. I forgot my ear protection at home. It was gonna be my first time wearing them as I was starting to get ringing after shows and I was told by friends that’s normal ...

The next day I woke up ears ringing. I didn’t think much of it. I’ve been here before but 3 days later I started getting worried... I went to the doctor he said I had massive ear wax, he flushed it and now everything hurts my ears. I have hyperacusis... just the sound of typing on my keyboard makes my ears tense up ... :(

I haven’t been able to sleep... the ringing is annoying but it’s been 23 days. I’m starting to kinda get used to it I guess but the not being able to sleep part is driving me to the verge of insanity... I keep questioning my quality of life and if it’s worth anything at this point? I’ve been through every emotion... regret, denial... a feeling that I’m not gonna let it win... but I feel like I can’t even start not letting it win till I get proper sleep... I’ve hardly left my house in 23 days and I know that’s not helping... but I can’t seem to get my sleep to start some kinda routine... since this started I’ve been up 48 hours at a time then I pass out for 3-4 hours and repeat... I’m trying everything I can to sleep but nothing is working... I’ve tried melatonin... no help... the doc put me on Xanax, no help (really didn’t wanna take it anyways)

I’m desperate for help with sleeping here...