Is It Standard Procedure to Have MRI for Tinnitus? Can They Do It If You Have Metal in Your Face?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Dubbyaman, Mar 23, 2018.

1. Dubbyaman
      Angry

Dubbyaman Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Excessive loud noise
      Is it standard procedure to have an MRI included in the many initial tests they give you for tinnitus?

Also, does anyone know if they can even do an MRI if you have metal in your face?

2. sjtinguy

sjtinguy Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise
      Metal like a piercing or like an implant or similar? I doubt if you have any steel anywhere in your body that you can do an MRI but I'm not an expert.

That being said, I would avoid having an MRI unless there was something specific they are looking for.. the MRI machines are very loud.. like 120db+ and can cause hearing damage by themselves!

3. PaulBe

PaulBe Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Probably sound, though never proven
      A part of MRI prep is research. They will not put you in a scanner unless any metal/prosthetic you have has been identified and researched for compatibility. Its a not-negotiable.

4. Bobby B
      Fine

Bobby B Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Large caliber rifles&machine guns, +30 years of loud clubs
      the metal will rip your face off like a bullet once they switch the MRI on

they have hand held metal detectors that are used for checking first

5. Julien87
      Not amused

Julien87 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure (concert)
      If you already know the cause of your T (which seems to be the case) I really don't think it is necessary.
      And here in my country it's not part of the standard procedure no, at least it was never suggested to me by my GP or ENT.

• Like Like x 1
    6. Tinker Bell

Tinker Bell Member Hall of Fame