Long Time Reader/First Time Poster

Discussion in 'Support' started by grnigrly18, Aug 25, 2018.

1. grnigrly18

grnigrly18 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello,
      This is my first time posting here, so please excuse my very long-winded PT experience.

My PT started in Oct. 2015 as a “rushing” sound in my right ear whenever I would bend down or move my head quickly to the right or left. Within a few weeks, it turned into a constant “whooshing” sound, that I would describe as hearing a fetal Doppler in my ear at all times.

I went to an ENT fairly quickly and she diagnosed me with Pulsatile Tinnitus and recommended a CT angiogram of my head and neck. The results were negative. For 1.5 years I lived with the PT 24/7, until May of 2017 when it seemingly went away out of nowhere.

That lasted for 6 months until Oct. 2017 when it came back intermittently. I have experienced what I would describe as head pressure for many years and by this spring I was having a hard time functioning because of it.

An ER doctor thought I may have Pseudotumor Cerebri and I was sent to a neurologist. I had a lumbar puncture done May 2018 and the results were that I had increased intracranial pressure. I was put on Diamox right away and the PT diminished again. I could only tolerate the medication for a month before I had to stop it because of the side effects.

In July 2018 I saw a neuro-ophthalmologist in Seattle who is supposed to be one of the best in the state for Pseudotumor Cerebri. He examined me and looked at all my brain imaging (CT angio, MRI, MRV) and told me I DON’T have Pseudotumor and that my PT is idiopathic (yeah right). I have pretty bad TMJ problems and a hard bump under my right ear toward my spine.