• We have updated Tinnitus Talk.

If you come across any issues, please use our contact form to get in touch.

New to Pulsatile Tinnitus (PT) and Seeking Your Thoughts

Ian Mc

Author
Jun 3, 2019
Tinnitus Since
April 2019
Cause of Tinnitus
Unknown Pulsatile Tinnitus
Hi, I'm new to pulsatile tinnitus. The sound of a"beating heart" (not whooshing) started in my left ear about a month ago. The same sound that you get when you are startled or running up a flight of stairs.

To date I have noticed that, the beating mainly occurs when I lean forward e.g., when I lean to look at something on a table, lean forward on a chair etc. It is not present when I am standing upright or sitting upright. I can vary the intensity of the beating by moving my head left or right, it's hardly noticeable when my head is centered. I can also stop the beating when I'm sitting by bending until I am parallel to the floor. It sometimes wakes me from sleep but I can stop it by turning to either my right or left side, pinching my nose and blowing out against my pinched nose, which pops my ears (valsalva).

I have heard the beating in my ear from time to time (over the years) but didn't give it much thought as it wasn't more or less constant.

I'm have to admit that I have started to focus on it this time (and search google for info) which may have resulted in me paying too much attention to what may be a normal sound?

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this.

Thanks.

Hi, I'm new to pulsatile tinnitus. The sound of a"beating heart" (not whooshing) started in my left ear about a month ago. The same sound that you get when you are startled or running up a flight of stairs.