Re: Struggling with Tinnitus & Hyperacusis for 6 Weeks

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by twa, Oct 31, 2020.

1. twa
      Busy

twa Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      2017- mild /Sept. 2020-moderate
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      meds/acoustic trauma
      Hi all,

I've have tinnitus for 3 years at a very low level from medication or an MRI I had 3 years ago. It was not noticeable and I had a normal life. I'm a teacher and a mom. I live in the suburbs with my family and my dog. I never visited a forum previously for my tinnitus. I actually did not give it a second thought.

Fast forward to the quarantine. We have been in lockdown for almost 7 months. I was homeschooling a loud/active kiddo, my husband who is also very loud was working from home in a high stress job and our dog barked continuously because he was not used to all the activity.

We were remote learning and it was very stressful, but we were managing since I am a teacher by profession. One day when sitting by my child he leaned next to my ear and screamed as loud as he could. It hurt, but I didn't think anything of it. I noticed in the next week or too, I was covering my ears a lot and asked my husband to stop yelling. I still did not realize I had had noise or acoustic trauma.

I went to the dentist and the sound of the drill was very loud. I even said something to the hygienist. That day or the next I started having louder, constant tinnitus, ear fullness, pain, headaches and anxiety. I went to the ENT the next day, he said you have mild hearing loss and he pressed inside my ears (excruciating) he said I have TMJ.