Sound Sensitivity and Tinnitus After Craniotomy for Epidermoid and Cochlear Fistula

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by KelliV, Sep 5, 2024.

1. KelliV

KelliV Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2024
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Craniotomy for benign skull base tumor and cochlear fistula
      Hello,

My name is Kelli, and I could use some help with suggestions for dealing with sound sensitivity at work. I work in customer service at an airport. In January, I had a craniotomy for a benign skull base tumor, a CSF leak into my temporal bone, and a cochlear fistula. While my ENT was able to preserve some hearing in my left ear, I can’t hear any speech with that ear, and I’m extremely sensitive to the sounds I do hear, especially loud ones.

I’ve also developed tinnitus in my left ear, which is more manageable in quiet environments, but it’s never fully gone. I took three months off work after surgery, but going back has been really difficult. It’s so loud, and I find it challenging to wear hearing protection because it makes it harder to hear customers.

If anyone has any advice, I would really appreciate it. My ENT has referred me to a tinnitus and hyperacusis center, but it’s in a different state, and I haven’t been able to go yet.

Thank you so much for listening. I truly appreciate it.

2. 2049v

2049v Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2024
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Earphones/NIHL/Acustic Trauma
      First of all, I sincerely wish you a speedy recovery. Hyperacusis’ biggest enemy is “loud” sounds. I am not an expert in this field, but based on both my own experiences and what I’ve learned in the community I’ve been a part of for months, you need to continue living within the sound level range that is suitable for you. Overusing earplugs unnecessarily can make your ears even more sensitive, and similarly, constantly exposing your ears to noise to avoid sensitivity may not be a good idea either.