Tinnitus After Moderate/Severe Acoustic Trauma: Will It Go Away Along with Symptoms of Hyperacusis?

Discussion in 'Support' started by NL50, Jul 23, 2024.

1. NL50

NL50 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2024
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Mortar Firework Explosion Near Ear
      Hi all! I am new to Tinnitus Talk. I just wanted to share my situation and get some feedback.

A few weeks ago, I was at a friend's house about 40 yards from where they were shooting fireworks. One of the big mortars fell over and shot directly at me. I started running, but it exploded about eight feet away. The explosion was near my left ear, so my right ear wasn't exposed much. My left ear felt like a gunshot went off right next to it. I lost hearing for about 5 to 10 seconds, and then a very loud ringing started. There was some pain initially, but it subsided after about 30 minutes. After that, I had extreme ear fullness and tinnitus.

I saw an ENT the next day, and my hearing had dropped by about 40%. I returned a day and a half later, and my hearing had returned, which was great! The first week and a half were pretty bad, but it has slowly improved. The tinnitus is consistent, but I can only hear it in a quiet room or if I plug my ears or wear earplugs, and it's quite faint. I still have some sound sensitivity, and I feel like I have ETD because my left ear pops often and relieves pressure but then closes back up if I yawn or lay on it a certain way.

My question is, with my current symptoms—no hearing loss, tinnitus only noticeable in very quiet rooms, and significant sound sensitivity—is there still hope that this could go away since today marks the three-week point? Or should I start preparing myself for the possibility that this could be long-term?

2. Muggumbo

Muggumbo Member Podcast Patron Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2023
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Concert/Acoustic Trauma