Tinnitus for 20 Years, Made Worse by Pneumatic Nail Gun and Motorcycling without Hearing Protection

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Jammer, Dec 4, 2022.

1. Jammer

Jammer Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      I've had tinnitus for 20 years and it has been catastrophic for the past four, primarily due to being exposed to a pneumatic nail gun, after years of motorcycling without hearing protection. Plenty of acoustic trauma from my youth didn't help.

I've been observing the forum for the past several years and joined so I can converse with the community. I had to retire as I could no longer keep my focus and job stress only made it worse.

Like most, sucks to be here but glad the Tinnitus Talk forum exists to share.

• Hug Hug x 5
      • Like Like x 2
    2. Diego LR

Diego LR Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unkown
      Hi!

Thanks for sharing your situation. My tinnitus got severe after developing hyperacusis and I am struggling to manage everything, but it has been just a year.

I am curious to know how do you manage life with catastrophic tinnitus and how have you managed to stay sane for so many years? How old are you? Do you have hyperacusis?

• Like Like x 1
      • Good Question Good Question x 1
    3. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure