Tinnitus from Long-Term Stress

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Wolfka, Jul 7, 2023.

1. Wolfka
      Loved

Wolfka Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2023
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      ENT says it was stress
      Hello there,

I'm new to tinnitus. The last couple of weeks have been a nightmare.

My tinnitus started about 6 weeks ago after 9 months of crazy stress in work. I got a mild eeeeee sound in my right ear at first. I went to an ENT the next day. They did an audiogram and a tympanometry, both with normal results. All they said is it's probably stress related, prescribed Betaserc, and that it will probably go away in few weeks. After 2 weeks the noise started to lower and was almost gone.

I went to a physiotherapist two weeks ago to unblock my right shovel, and not even hour after that a new sound started - high-pitched noise, something between static and cicadas, which is still present in same loudness as it was first day.

Luckily I can still fall asleep without background noise, but I'm scared that my tinnitus will get worse.

• Hug Hug x 5
    2. DeepakB
      Wishful

DeepakB Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      ENT's opinion - Stress. I ain't too sure.
      Hi,

The struggle is real, but it gets better with time. Chances are that your tinnitus will either go away, as it does in many cases or you will learn to live with it without it being anything more than a nuisance.

Why would you assume it will get worse? Just take care of ears, live healthy and everything will be alright.

A large majority of people simply get better and never look back. No reason you won't be one of them.

G'day.

• Like Like x 1
    3. Joe Cuber
      Angry

Joe Cuber Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Gradual hearing loss + a huge amount of stress
      I can relate to your story @Wolfka. I had about 6 months of extremely high stress from work just prior to the onset of my tinnitus.