Tinnitus Since the 1980s, Hyperacusis Over the Past Year — History of Loud Noise Exposure

Gypsy

Author
Oct 19, 2024
Tinnitus Since
Cause of Tinnitus
Loud whistle noise at beginning of play Barnum and heredity
Tinnitus runs in my family. My father had it, and all four of my siblings have it too. My own tinnitus began after an incident during a stage play called Barnum. The actor playing the lead blew a whistle so loudly that it pierced my eardrums, and I've had problems ever since. That was around 1980. Additionally, I'm a nurse, and back in the day, we didn't have electronic stethoscopes or couldn't use them in the settings where I worked. Of course, I should also mention that I used to listen to loud music from my teens through my twenties.

The tinnitus I experience is a high-pitched, continuous noise, but it has also sounded like a roaring, especially after exposure to loud noises. Over the past year, I've developed hyperacusis, though I hadn't noticed it before. I feel more sensitivity in my right ear, but both ears are now affected. My hyperacusis isn't as severe as some people experience; chewing and similar sounds don't bother me. However, what is bothersome is that I sing in a choir, and the organ played by the director in our choir loft is unbearable for me. I'm the only one who can't stand how loud it sounds. I've used an earplug in my right ear before and was still able to sing, but lately, I've had to use earplugs in both ears, and singing has become very difficult. Sometimes, I can't even hear myself or the other singers over the organ and additional brass instruments.