Unilateral Tinnitus Caused by Unmanaged Anxiety/Insomnia?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Colonel Mustard, Dec 5, 2023.

1. Colonel Mustard

Colonel Mustard Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2023
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Stress
      I'm a relative newbie to this. I have had a quiet chime/ringing in my right ear for a couple of years.
      However, following a period of extreme stress/anxiety/insomnia in October this year, my tinnitus has reached new heights.

I've had the battery of tests: MRI, audiogram, and tympanography, all of which have revealed normal findings.

Since then, my sleep has only deteriorated, and it appears to be having a cumulative negative effect on my tinnitus.

Is it quite plausible that all of this is due to the mental health component in absence of any physical abnormality? Sometimes that feels hard to believe.

Thanks for taking your time to read and reply. The support on this forum means so much to me.

• Hug Hug x 3
      • Agree Agree x 1
    2. Muggumbo

Muggumbo Member Podcast Patron Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2023
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Concert/Acoustic Trauma
      Mine is due to acoustic trauma but there's lots of instances where stress seems to have triggered tinnitus. It's crazy how the body will produce something that causes more stress as a result of stress. If you're fairly sure that it wasn't caused by other factors, then the first thing to do is try to get your stress under control as much as you can (I know this isn't easy especially with the new sound in your ear).

3. slc

slc Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2011