Why Does My Tinnitus Disappear in Silence? Is This Positive?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Pabl692, Dec 17, 2018.

1. Pabl692
      Alone

Pabl692 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      November 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Performing musician.
      Hi,

Sorry for posting again, I just have a few questions that I would like to see if anyone can help with. I'm still relatively new to all this (it's been just over three weeks since I really noticed the tinnitus).

So firstly, there are 2/3 tones. Two of them are more like pure tones, perhaps 7500 Hz and one maybe a bit higher. They seem to fluctuate between one ear, or both (middle of my head). They seem to fluctuate in volume, but they are both quite easily maskable and only seem loud when in a silent room, or at least a quietish room. If I stay in a silent room long enough, or wear ear plugs, these tones disappear. I am then left with the electrical noise (below) and some white noise. Why would this be? Is this a good sign? However, it does seem that any general sort of sound triggers these tones. They can sometimes disappear when there is noise around, but not so often. When I wake up in a morning, these tones aren't there. Sometimes they don't come on until after I've had a shower etc.

But there seems to be no sort of rhyme of reason to it... they come and go in their own severity. This can't be a good sign? Is it likely this will calm down?

The other is a really high frequency hiss. When this is louder, it is much harder to mask. I can be at work, in the atrium with a couple hundred students and I can hear it above them all (albeit faintly). I find this one particularly frustrating. It is like there is a TV turned on in my head - it's really electrical, it just hisses. If I move my eyes, or even if I keep my eyes still and stare at my computer screen and then scroll down a page, I can stimulate the sound. Can anyone relate?