26+ Years of Tinnitus, Either from Music, Race Cars, Ear Infection, or All of Them

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Karl T, Dec 31, 2023.

1. Karl T

Karl T Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Don't know. Probably live music and race cars
      Hello,

I'm from West Des Moines, Iowa. I'm 55 years old - and I've lived with tinnitus for about 26 years. It started sometime in 1996-1997. I was a drummer starting at age 11. During high school in mid-80s I was part of the punk scene, not only playing, but far too many shows with part of the time at the front of the stage 3 feet from Marshall stacks. I even spent 87-91 crewing for a speed metal band. At one practice they took offense to my falling asleep and proceeded to put a Marshall stack a foot from me and cranked it 'to 11'. I did not wake-up. No joke. Who knows what effect it had. The bass player also had an in for concert tickets which led to things like 3 Metallica 'And Just for All' concerts no further back than the 5th row...

Anyway, 1989-1994 I was a volunteer with the Ruan Des Moines Grand Prix, which put me in close proximity with race cars for a few days each year. In 1993 I joined the Sports Car Club of America doing flagging and some safety, but I also did some crewing, including for a Trans Am team in 96-97. Sometime in that 96-97 window is when things started going bad. One Monday night I'm getting ready for Monday Night Football to come on, the room starts spinning, I head for the bathroom - next thing you know I wake-up with my girlfriend and cat standing over me. I had blacked out and hit my head on the wall on my way down. That evening was spent in the ER, where I was diagnosed with an inner ear infection. Over the course of the next 2-3 months I had regular bouts of vertigo. Luckily only once while driving. I came out the other side with tinnitus in my left ear.