I'm a 75-Year-Old US Navy Veteran: My Tinnitus Started When I Turned in Bed While Sleeping

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by JimMcD, Oct 24, 2023.

1. JimMcD

JimMcD Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud noise made by equipment on ship
      Hello

I'm aged 75, male. I was around a lot of noise from age 16 up until present. US Navy Veteran (noise), retired US Merchant Marine (noise), retired navigation lock operator (noise from VHF radio over 20 years).

Tinnitus hit me a few weeks ago as I turned in the bed as I slept. It is constant and buzzing.

I had a hearing test; I only have slight hearing loss at very high frequencies.

I visited the U.S. Veterans Hospital today. I could not get any appointment. I have a claim in and have to wait until they call me to test.

So far the only time it really bothers me is when I'm trying to go to sleep. And if I wake up during the night, it's not easy to get back to sleep.

My neighbor claims she managed her tinnitus with a hearing aid. I'm planning to visit her hearing center to see what they can offer to me.

I read about CBT. I read about Lenire and thought that was going to be the fix.

Any advice you folks can share with me will be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Signed,
      James

• Hug Hug x 4
    2. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure
      Welcome to the forum.