Notched Sound Therapy Seems to Be Helping Me. A Guide:

Darryl

Author
Jan 18, 2018
Tinnitus Since
11/1999
Cause of Tinnitus
Shotgun blast coupled with severe nasal congestion
I first read about notched music/sound therapy over the 2017 Christmas holidays (yeah, late to the party) and, given that the long nights of Winter are a bad time for my tinnitus, thought I would give notched sound therapy a try. I have been very pleased, and thankful, for the results thus far. My tinnitus has not gone away, but it is reduced. The effect I am most thankful for is that the therapy seems to have reduced the "morning roars" of my tinnitus. I hate it when I wake up in the morning and my tinnitus is roaring. This notched sound therapy seems to have helped that quite a bit.

This is not a scientific trial and I am not a doctor or audiologist. What I did may have no benefit for you. However, it cost me nothing to try and it seems to be helping a good deal, so I wanted to find a forum to share my experience. Please comment if you have questions and also comment with your experiences if you try this.

Pros: Has reduced my tinnitus including the "morning roars" that cause me so much trouble
Free to try (and use). Seriously. It costs nothing and never will. The therapy doesn't cost anything if you already own a computer and some "in the ear" earbuds of decent quality.

Cons: You have to listen to a lot of notched music and notched white noise. I listen for an hour or more each day.
It takes time. My tinnitus did not improve until after listening for an hour or more each day for at least a week, then things started to get better. Things actually got a bit worse on day two or three.

Caution - DO NOT LISTEN TO LOUD NOTCHED MUSIC OR NOTCHED WHITE NOISE! Listen at a normal, comfortable level. Don't damage your hearing further with loud sounds!

Steps: