Tinnitus Caused by Workplace Noise — Should I Change Careers?

Andrew Ingram

Author
Jan 31, 2017
Tinnitus Since
Cause of Tinnitus
workplace noise
Hello tinnitus friends

I'm a carpenter who started noticing ringing in my ears last summer. I've been wearing ear muffs since then but the ringing has increased. Saw ENT yesterday and have hearing loss on some high frequencies and tinnitus.

I'm very apprehensive about returning to work. I'm sure I don't have the most acute tinnitus in the world but I don't want it to get worse. I'm exposed to loud machines most of the day - around about 90-100db. Using really good earmuffs should reduce it down to about 65db. Should this level of noise make it worse?

Although I love my job I'm thinking about changing to do something quieter as I really couldn't bear it if the tinnitus worsens.

Kind regards, Andrew

Hi Andrew,
I can understand as im sure you work with lots of noisy tools etc.
My friend @Michael Leigh
Might be able help you as that was his trade...lots of love glynis

I'm a carpenter who started noticing ringing in my ears last summer. I've been wearing ear muffs since then but the ringing has increased. Saw ENT yesterday and have hearing loss on some high frequencies and tinnitus. I'm very apprehensive about returning to work. I'm sure I don't have the most acute tinnitus in the world but I don't want it to get worse. I'm exposed to loud machines most of the day - around about 90-100db. Using really good earmuffs should reduce it down to about 65db. Should this level of noise make it worse?

Although I love my job I'm thinking about changing to do something quieter as I really couldn't bear it if the tinnitus worsens.

@Andrew Ingram
HI Andrew,